Sometimes you forget who you are

Frugal Thinker
3 min readJan 7, 2022

This year find yourself again

Photo by whoislimos on Unsplash

I remember my early 20s earning my first role as a Jr. Software Developer right out of co-op. I was so damn happy to step into the real world knowing what it took to get there:

My first year of college I felt intimidated by the other students that had been coding since they were kids or whose parents were programmers and taught them tidbits to make their transition into a career a breeze.

My grades were poor the first year but over the summer something clicked. I realized I can catch up; and if I can catch up, then I can surpass. While everyone was partying, playing video games or sleeping I took advantage of the extra hours in the day. I stayed in my room most of the summer, getting familiar with Java, .NET and SQL. I spun up my own servers at home and connected to them from school via DDNS. I was learning and growing rapidly, I went from a soon to be college dropout to the top of the class and 2nd place Capstone winner.

Early in my career:

I joined a golf club. I was terrible at it but I learned etiquette, patience, professionalism and how to socialize with anyone. It introduced me to people who “made it” in life and they were extremely open to share their wisdom. It showed me what a quality of life can end up looking like if you find something you love…

--

--

Frugal Thinker

👪 Dad 🌿 Vegan 🧮 Frugal Thinker👷 DIY'er 👨‍💻 Coder 🧪Info Seeker 🦉 Wise Owl 🏃‍♂️ Mud Runner 🥊 Kick Boxer 📈 Investor It's about freedom