I Tried Clear Linux and Hated it

Frugal Thinker
3 min readMay 15, 2021

Linux has been my go-to OS for the past decade. It’s fast, stable, secure and best of all it’s free. I’m usually good with most distros, Ubuntu has great compatibility, Linux Mint is simplistic, Elementary OS has a great User Experience. Then there is Clear Linux.

Clear Linux is Intel’s spin on a Linux OS. It is the fastest performing Linux OS to date. On a normal workload I’m only using 3GB the system admittedly feels fast and responsive.

Performance aside I have some issues

I love that Clear Linux feels performant, nothing feels sluggish using the system but there is certain functionality out of the box that drives me bonkers.

The long host name

I’m aware this may be nitpicking but damn give me space to type my bash commands without needing to go full screen.

--

--

Frugal Thinker

👪 Dad 🌿 Vegan 🧮 Frugal Thinker👷 DIY'er 👨‍💻 Coder 🧪Info Seeker 🦉 Wise Owl 🏃‍♂️ Mud Runner 🥊 Kick Boxer 📈 Investor It's about freedom